Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Official blog of the Lehigh University Chemical Engineers

Internship

Leave a comment

So last time, I posted about how the internship interview that I had was really stressful. The whole internship process is kinda stressful to be honest. You may not get the first one or two or three that you apply for, but it’s important to keep up the determination and keep on applying. As of now, I have applied to 8, and only received 1 interview.

While this may sound like a lot of work, the majority of applications are the same. I would say one of the only things you really have to change is your cover letter. As for those, I have a blanket couple paragraphs about my resume and  personal skills, but have a specific paragraph that I modify for each company that I apply for. Writing one paragraph isn’t that much work. I have one pdf file of my resume that I use for every application.

Not trying to crush your spirits, but don’t expect replies for every internship you apply for. Last year, I hardly got any. I would suggest that if it is a position that you are extremely interested in, and it’s been a month or so since you’ve applied, then email the company asking when you may hear a reply. This is not annoying, it shows that you are interested and willing to go after what you want. The key to getting an internship is being a little bit aggressive.

Happy internship hunting! It can be hard and a little bit disappointing, but don’t give up. Your dream internship is waiting for you!

Author: lukayla17

Junior Chemical Engineer Major! My interests include makeup, the 1950s, netflix, and cosmetic science.

Leave a Reply

