Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Official blog of the Lehigh University Chemical Engineers

Interview

Leave a comment

So yesterday I had my first internship interview. I was a little nervous, only because I wasn’t quite sure what to expect. Usually, I am very good with answering questions on the spot, but this wasn’t a basic interview. I wasn’t expecting it to be 3-on-1, but it was. That created some more nerves because it’s harder to connect with 3 people than it is with 1 person.

When it came to the basic interview questions, I was pretty much fine. It was the usual, tell me about a time when you [insert typical interview question here.] The goal there is to tell of an experience  that makes you look good while answering their question.

The technical questions were the ones that threw me off just a bit. I’ve never had those in an interview before, and for those of you who may not know what that is, it’s basically a question like the following (thanks google for providing this for me): “You want to build a pipe through a mountain. What issues would you need to overcome to make this happen?” The goal of these types of questions is to see how you think through problems, but the hard part is expressing your thoughts. Writing things down is encouraged, definitely take your time to think about it. And when it comes down to the common question, “what if I have no idea how to answer that?” I would say, according to some research on the good, old internet, don’t try to fool them. Be honest, say something along the lines of, “Based on my limited knowledge of the subject, this is where I would start, [give them something], and from there I would have to research that problem a little bit more and get back to you.”

Interviews can be tough and overwhelming, but each one gives you some experience and insight. Did I nail my first one? Eh, I would give myself maybe like a 5/10, but I feel very confident that I could do better on the next one.

Good luck interviewing!

Author: lukayla17

Junior Chemical Engineer Major! My interests include makeup, the 1950s, netflix, and cosmetic science.

Leave a Reply

