Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Official blog of the Lehigh University Chemical Engineers

Joining the M2 Program

Leave a comment

I’m very excited to tell you that I’m accepting the offer to join the Lehigh Master of Science in Management (M2) program after graduation. M2 is a one year graduate program that lets engineering students to build a business skill set toward career goals. I think it’s a great opportunity for me to sharpen my business acumen, and really adding another strong tool into my skill sets. I made an earlier post about M2, and you can view it here. I really believe that diversifying my skills helps to succeed in life. And I wanted to share with you a short paragraph from my Personal Statement that I had do for program application:

“Along the road of growing up, I have picked up a few words of wisdom that were made popular over the millennium. One of my favorite ones was that “if you want to succeed in life, you have to be an expert at something.” It was not until the end of my junior year of college that the overwhelming amount of power and truth of these words began to sink in. Scrambling in a quest for expertise, I quickly discovered it is not enough to become just an expert in one field. I believe that in order to truly succeed I must build many tools around myself. A Swiss Army Knife is often more handy than a single screwdriver. A screwdriver might do one job well, but a Swiss Army Knife can do much more. Having the engineering technical background in my pocket, I wish to expand my horizon by joining the Master of Science in Management Program.”

I think that building a solid business education onto the foundation of my Chemical Engineering degree will not only hone my business acumen, but it will also provide me the necessary tools to contribute to my future company. It’s really about building up from my Chemical Engineering degree and take the talent to a different ground.Effective-Management-of-People-Large

 

Author: Jerry Jin

Hello, My name is Jerry Jin. I'm a senior at Lehigh University pursuing a degree in Chemical Engineering. I'm from Allentown, PA, but I was born in Shanghai, China. I moved here when I was fourteen years old. I'm currently the secretary for Southeast Asia at Lehigh Club, and treasurer for SASE. I'm also on the Lehigh Ultimate Frisbee Team and I enjoy being spontaneous.

Leave a Reply

