Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Official blog of the Lehigh University Chemical Engineers

Annual Undergraduate Research Symposium Rd. 2

Leave a comment

This Wednesday the 2nd round of the undergraduate research symposium took place in grand fashion at the Steps concourse. There were more than 30 teams each presenting their hard work of research and projects. It exhibits the intensive qualities of Lehigh engineering students. It’s also a perfect demonstration of the exciting research opportunities Lehigh offers to undergraduate students. I found my ChE friends proudly presenting their work. In fact, two ChE groups presented on their excellent work on the senior design project.

One of the groups’ design project topic is Dry Methane Reforming. It’s a process that produces syngas by reacting carbon dioxide with hydrocarbons such as methane. According to Martin Halmann, In recent years, increased concerns on the contribution of greenhouse gases to global warming have increased interest in the replacement of steam as reactant with carbon dioxide.

The other group presented on Bio-production of 1,3-propanediol (PDO). Typically, PDO is produced from Ethylene Oxide, which ironically is the final product of my design project. Recently, companies started to invest in production of PDO from renewable sources such as corn. In fact, the picture of the carpet square in the slideshow below is an example of what can be made from bio-produced PDO. It’s very fluffy and awesome.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Author: Jerry Jin

Hello, My name is Jerry Jin. I'm a senior at Lehigh University pursuing a degree in Chemical Engineering. I'm from Allentown, PA, but I was born in Shanghai, China. I moved here when I was fourteen years old. I'm currently the secretary for Southeast Asia at Lehigh Club, and treasurer for SASE. I'm also on the Lehigh Ultimate Frisbee Team and I enjoy being spontaneous.

Leave a Reply

