Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Official blog of the Lehigh University Chemical Engineers

Leadership Consultant w/ SASE

Leave a comment

At SASE, we like to learn while having fun. A few weeks ago, we invited trained leaders from the Office of Student Leadership Development (OSLD) to come over for leadership workshop that help the next year’s SASE eBoard members to better understand leadership roles. Two OSLD representatives came and they presented us with basic leadership concepts and fun activities to do.

One of the activities was to build the tallest tower with given pasta noodles and marshmallows. Sounds interesting right? Each person was given a random amount of pasta and marshmallows to start. The activity helped me to learn the dynamics of a team, and how the leader of a team is evolved. I learned that communication is a major aspect that affect the effectiveness of a team. Being able to get ideas across makes a important difference between a efficient team and a not so efficient team.

Having a solid engineering background is critical to my future success, however, I think having great leadership abilities is just as important. I wish to evolve as a leader in the future, and at the same time utilizing my Chemical Engineering knowledge to benefit my community. Chemical Engineering is a universal engineering; it means that the associated concepts could applied almost everywhere. Knowing that, it really offers diversified possibilities as to what I want to do with my Chemical Engineering degree. Going forward, I’m going to pursue a Master of Science in Management degree at Lehigh. It’ll not only add value to my Lehigh experience, but also provide me a well-rounded academic portfolio.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Author: Jerry Jin

Hello, My name is Jerry Jin. I'm a senior at Lehigh University pursuing a degree in Chemical Engineering. I'm from Allentown, PA, but I was born in Shanghai, China. I moved here when I was fourteen years old. I'm currently the secretary for Southeast Asia at Lehigh Club, and treasurer for SASE. I'm also on the Lehigh Ultimate Frisbee Team and I enjoy being spontaneous.

Leave a Reply

