Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Official blog of the Lehigh University Chemical Engineers

Exit Interview w/ ChE Chair Prof. Kothare

Leave a comment

CaptureSpring has finally arrived at Lehigh. The sun feels warmer, and the days seemed brighter. There’re only 11 school days left, and pretty soon I’ll graduate from Lehigh Department of Chemical Engineering. The graduation ceremony is set to be May 18th. As a graduating senior, we are offered a chance to chat with the ChE Department Chair, Prof. Kothare, to discuss our overall experience as a ChE. For those of you who remember, Prof. Kothare taught my Process Control class, and more importantly, I benefited a lot from outside the class by applying system controls knowledge onto real life scenarios.

The exit interview is supposedly 15- 20 minutes long, and we can talk about our best ChE moments, favorite ChE stories, as well as suggestions on how to improve the department. It was very thoughtful of the department to provide us this opportunity to make this place better. I feel that my opinions and recommendations are valued here. Through my four years at Lehigh, I have had the pleasure to witness many changes and monumental moments for the ChE Department.

For instance, during the spring of my junior year, the name of the the department was changed from “The Department of Chemical Engineering” to “The Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering”. It served as a prove that the department has the capability to keep up the modern technology demands. It also showed the department is adaptive to any research and development challenges.

I have also seen some great additions to the ChE department faculty. For example, the hiring of Prof. Baltrusaitus has been a tremendous boost to the strong faculty panel. Prof. Baltrusaitis is one of the professors who teaches my Senior Design class, and he has been major help to our group, providing insightful tips and troubleshooting any problems that stand in the way. I think overall I’ll have a lot of say at my exit interview. I’m schedule to go on May 6th, and I look forward to share some of my treasured moments here.

Author: Jerry Jin

Hello, My name is Jerry Jin. I'm a senior at Lehigh University pursuing a degree in Chemical Engineering. I'm from Allentown, PA, but I was born in Shanghai, China. I moved here when I was fourteen years old. I'm currently the secretary for Southeast Asia at Lehigh Club, and treasurer for SASE. I'm also on the Lehigh Ultimate Frisbee Team and I enjoy being spontaneous.

Leave a Reply

