Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Official blog of the Lehigh University Chemical Engineers

ChEs representing at Lehigh Undergraduate Research Symposium

Leave a comment

I’m really happy to announce that there were three senior Chemical Engineering students who competed at the 2015 Undergraduate Research Symposium. They are my dearest ChemE buddies Jon, Rob, and Tom. Lehigh’s annual Undergraduate Research Symposium is held each spring. It exhibits the intensive qualities of Lehigh engineering students. It’s also a perfect demonstration of the exciting research opportunities Lehigh offers to undergraduate students.

Student competitors who conducted excellent researches were nominated by their departments. Jon, Rob and Tom were nominated by the Chemical Engineering Department to represent us at the Symposium. They were to showcase the the significance and the outstanding work they had done, and explain their research topics to students and other visitors. I was fortunate enough to stop by at the event and hear my ChemE friends express their work. I feel much enlightened by the quality of the research they had done, and I’m very proud of my fellow ChemEs.

Tom performed his research on studying the Synthesis and Photocatalytic Properties of Titania Nanobelt Supported N-doped Titania Nanoparticles. His research explores the two-step synthesis of a new titania nano-composite consisting of nitrogen-doped titania (TiO2) nano-particles on TiO2 nano-belts for solar-activated water purification.

Jon did his research on exploring Novel Materials for Cathodes and Anodes of Solid Oxide Fuel Cells. His research aims to characterize different types of solid oxides in order to understand how different element combinations and crystal structures affect oxygen anion and electron conductivity in solid oxide fuel cell (SOFC) anodes and cathodes.

Rob ventured on the Discovery and design of novel biological tools for advanced functional nanomaterials synthesis. He is searching through biological techniques, such as an enzyme from Stenotrophomonas maltophilia, cystathionine ?-lyase,  to carry out size-controllable nanoparticle synthesis.

They each did their research with professor McIntosh, and I was delighted to tell you that Jon won the third place in the competition, and Rob scored an honorable mention. They both won travel stipends to attend professional conferences across the country. Congratulations!!!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Author: Jerry Jin

Hello, My name is Jerry Jin. I'm a senior at Lehigh University pursuing a degree in Chemical Engineering. I'm from Allentown, PA, but I was born in Shanghai, China. I moved here when I was fourteen years old. I'm currently the secretary for Southeast Asia at Lehigh Club, and treasurer for SASE. I'm also on the Lehigh Ultimate Frisbee Team and I enjoy being spontaneous.

Leave a Reply

