Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Official blog of the Lehigh University Chemical Engineers

Life after College

Leave a comment

As a graduating senior Chemical Engineering student, time is really winding down. Five more weeks of school left and I’m still in a quest of figuring out my life after college. The endless possibilities of what I can do dazzles me, and I have narrowed it down to two. While chE graduate school is out of the picture for me, I find myself in a midst of a three-way standoff between me, finding a job, or joining the Master of Science in Management program (M2) at Lehigh. Although it’d be certainly thrilling to dive right into the industrial world and make money, the M2 program offers something very unique to engineering students. And that is core business skills. Many of you might not be familiar with M2, so let me explain it to you.

Alex_RBC night _0The M2 program is short for Master of Science in Management. It’s a new program for 2015, and it is designed for non-business students. By enrolling in the M2 program I’ll be able to build a business skill toolbox that will help me better define my career goals and sharpen my business acumen. So it’s similar in a way to the IBE program for undergraduate students, except M2 is a Masters degree and it offers much more. Other than core business management classes, the program also provides exciting opportunities such as externships, consulting projects, and international immersion experiences. I think it’ll provide me a smooth transition going from college to the industry. Most importantly, through the program I hope to really find myself in terms of what I really like to do. Last but not least, I wish to polish my personal brand and really be able to market myself out in the real world.

I have also been surfing the web for any job opportunities that I find interesting. To be honest, there’s a lot of jobs out there, and it is not difficult to find something that suits with a Chemical Engineering major. However, I think the trick here is to really find something that suits me personally, something that is interesting, motivating, and align with career development. I think that one of the keys to success is continuous learning and personal growth. Although I haven’t been able to receive any job offers from my Mr. Right in the job market yet, I must keep going. Another thing I realize that I should not get trapped in one field of study, and to me diversity is more important. I’m not afraid to venture out beyond the shores and explore the world.

Author: Jerry Jin

Hello, My name is Jerry Jin. I'm a senior at Lehigh University pursuing a degree in Chemical Engineering. I'm from Allentown, PA, but I was born in Shanghai, China. I moved here when I was fourteen years old. I'm currently the secretary for Southeast Asia at Lehigh Club, and treasurer for SASE. I'm also on the Lehigh Ultimate Frisbee Team and I enjoy being spontaneous.

Leave a Reply

