Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Official blog of the Lehigh University Chemical Engineers

Guest Speaker Keith Krenz

Leave a comment

Last Friday, it has been such a pleasure to have Mr. Keith Krenz as our guest speaker. He had quite an impressive resume and he has involved himself in many business areas. He founded his engineering research company in 1985. He has then succeed himself out of the company by 2004, and has been working on special projects internationally. He began his speech by discussing some underlying leadership principles and core elements. For example, leadership is critical in the amount of experience, consistency and confidence. I really liked this quote his presented from Alice in Wonderland, “If you don’t know where you are going, any road will take you there!” I think it makes a lot of sense and it applies to me well. As a graduating senior in college, I constantly have to figure out what I want to do after college. The answer is not always clear. However, I realize that I must do something so I get somewhere. This quote explained it very well.

One of the most important thing I learned that a company must keep up with the business trend. As the leader of the company, you have to decide whether you want to take a risk and make a new product, or sticking with your current product and see how much that’s going to cost you. When you start to lose too much for not changing, maybe then it’s time to create new product ideas. Keith gave some excellent examples of this concept. It made a lot of sense too because if McDonalds’ has a new type of milkshake, then Wendy’s need to create something just like that to not lose customers and keep up with the market.

The presentation can possibly be more effective is that less flow chart could be used. I thought that the flow sheet a little confusing to follow. Also, I thought there’s too much word being used in the slides, which made the presentation hard to focus. It’s also difficult to read everything that’s on the slides. In addition, I would be very interested to hear his suggestions on what I should do now to get myself closer to become a great leader like he is. A great leader is not made in one day. I think it will be a great idea to hear things I can do along the process of changing myself from a team member to a team leader.

Author: Jerry Jin

Hello, My name is Jerry Jin. I'm a senior at Lehigh University pursuing a degree in Chemical Engineering. I'm from Allentown, PA, but I was born in Shanghai, China. I moved here when I was fourteen years old. I'm currently the secretary for Southeast Asia at Lehigh Club, and treasurer for SASE. I'm also on the Lehigh Ultimate Frisbee Team and I enjoy being spontaneous.

Leave a Reply

