Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Official blog of the Lehigh University Chemical Engineers

It’s the Little Things

Leave a comment

So I know for the most part this blog is supposed to be super science-y and specifically about chemical engineering, but me being the true rebel that I am am diverging a bit to talk about becoming the best version of yourself. I hate to break it to you, but college is just as stressful as it is fun. Sure you have a ton more free-time than in high school, but if you misuse that free time, you’re behind in a class. Sure you only have two tests per class per semester, but if you bomb one, you can count on getting a low grade for the semester. Sure there are fun things to do all the time, but if you don’t sleep you’ll get burnt out. Each one of these things has a domino affect on your life.

While that is a bit scary to think about, if you mess up the only thing you can do is try one day at a time to get back to where you need and want to be. I’d like to think I finally have college figured out. Go to office hours, study a little every day, try to be healthy, etc, But once midterms come around or you get into a fight with your friend, it’s hard to stay focused on what is the most important, which is getting an education that lays the foundation for the literal rest of your life. So the next time you diverge from what you think you should be doing, take a moment to breathe and re-evaluate, because soon enough you will be back on track.

For me, I finally got my schedule down with school and work, so something I wanted to work on is going to the gym more. College is really all a balance. To keep everything in check, when you want to add something, you may need to take away something else. For the past week, I started going to the gym every day, which is about an hour and a half time commitment. Because of this, I gave up watching an episode or two on netflix. This was a personal win on my part because not only am I no longer watching netflix, I am using that time for something much more productive. Furthermore, it has become a part of my daily routine and hopefully will stay that way,

You might think going to the gym isn’t really a huge deal, but it’s the small changes that you keep adding that will eventually get you to the place you want to be. My next step is removing coffee from my daily life. Just to prove how difficult this is going to be, I haven’t had any for one day and I already have a headache. If I can make it the rest of the day without caffeine, that will be another personal win, but if I give in, I can try again tomorrow. As long as you’re willing to keep putting in the effort, you can always improve yourself.

Oh and before I go, my dad just texted me this joke:

What do you do with chemists when they die?

You barium.

Have a good week engineering friends!

Author: lukayla17

Junior Chemical Engineer Major! My interests include makeup, the 1950s, netflix, and cosmetic science.

Leave a Reply

