Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Official blog of the Lehigh University Chemical Engineers

Guest Speaker Dr. Ray Glemser

Leave a comment

For my Leadership Development class we always invite guest leaders to come in and share their life experience with us. And we were very fortunate to have Dr. Ray Glemser to come to Lehigh University as a guest speaker.

glemserlogo-mediumRay Glemser is currently the CEO of Glemser Technologies. Glemser Technologies is a leader in the design, development and implementation of content management solutions for life sciences companies. It provides IT solution to especially pharmaceutical business processes. Their office is in North side Bethlehem across from the Lehigh campus. It’s interesting to realize that his wife was my former landlord at the off campus house I used to live in. And the professor of this class is the landlord of the off campus house my friend lives in.

Ray is a Lehigh alum. He received his doctoral’s degree in 3D tolerance analysis from Lehigh Univeristy. While he is in graduate school here, Prof. Emory Zimmers was his mentor. Ray has learned quite a lot from his mentor, including leadership styles and life philosophies. He began his presentation by providing us a review of his life events including the times he was at Lehigh. There are three things that made him special and stand out from the other. The three traits are that he worked harder and longer than the others; he kept himself interested and motivated by surrounding himself with the right people and keeping up with schedules. He was able smart enough to see patterns in what he was doing and he was able to learn quicker than the others.

One of the most important pieces of advice that Ray gave was that never bring family into the business. Ray learnt that when family members were brought into the business, the business dynamics will become very unstable. If the leader tried to keep things straight business, then family relations will suffer. This is because family members tend to develop a sense of entitlement that other normal employees don’t have. Therefore, families must stay out of the business. Also, the case study was very effective because all three cases were very challenging and interesting.

The presentation could be more meaningful if Ray had given more stories on how he was able to manage to never work for anybody in his career. It might be his natural ability to lead others because he is very knowledgeable in what he does. I would be very interested to hear his suggestions on what I should do now to get myself closer to become a great leader like he is. Last, I like how he said one should dress like a leader. I thought he was very well dressed and tailored in his suit.

Author: Jerry Jin

Hello, My name is Jerry Jin. I'm a senior at Lehigh University pursuing a degree in Chemical Engineering. I'm from Allentown, PA, but I was born in Shanghai, China. I moved here when I was fourteen years old. I'm currently the secretary for Southeast Asia at Lehigh Club, and treasurer for SASE. I'm also on the Lehigh Ultimate Frisbee Team and I enjoy being spontaneous.

Leave a Reply

