Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Official blog of the Lehigh University Chemical Engineers

ISE 382 Leadership Development

Leave a comment

The syllabus week is through, and it was a great week. On the first day, it’s quite sweet that all of my classes finished early. But I had planned out my schedule that the next class starts after the previous class. So I was left with a few awkward 20 to 30 minute breaks in between classes. It turned out nicely though because it gave me some time to catch up on emails and other miscellaneous little things. Everything was a little more interesting when you think of it as the last “xyz” of college, making things more special and memorable.

So like I promised, I found out more about this leadership development that I’m taking, and I’m here to tell you more about it. First of all, I’m taking this class because it satisfies the engineering elective that I need to graduate. As a Che student, you are required to take a course in other engineering discipline. At this stage of my college career, I figured something other than a traditional technical engineering course would spice up my schedule a bit.

In today’s global competitive environment, engineers are always called upon to use their technical skills. However, being able to combine technical skills with good leadership skills will help create the next generation of technologically competent leaders and executives. In this class, I’m going to learn about some leadership theories, principles, and processes. There will be many presentations given by guest leaders from the real industry; most of them are successful Lehigh Alumni. In the end of the semester, I will need to create a personalized leadership development plan that I need to follow for the next chapter of my life (5-10 years).

The professor is really friendly and keeps the class entertaining. As you know, the class goes from 1 to 4 every Friday afternoon. I would recommend this class to other people simply because it adds more dimension to your classical engineering schedule. It gets people out of their engineering box and see what others are doing, while simultaneously helping yourself to decide where you are going to be in the journey of life.

Author: Jerry Jin

Hello, My name is Jerry Jin. I'm a senior at Lehigh University pursuing a degree in Chemical Engineering. I'm from Allentown, PA, but I was born in Shanghai, China. I moved here when I was fourteen years old. I'm currently the secretary for Southeast Asia at Lehigh Club, and treasurer for SASE. I'm also on the Lehigh Ultimate Frisbee Team and I enjoy being spontaneous.

Leave a Reply

