Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Official blog of the Lehigh University Chemical Engineers

Back to School

Leave a comment

The first week of spring semester has officially started. This semester is a little special because it’s going to be my last semester here at Lehigh. Like many other seniors, I’m thinking about finding a job and spending some time preparing for any upcoming interviews that might happen. Also, I’m taking all the necessary classes to fulfill graduation requirements. Here’s what my schedule looks like for this semester.

Schedule S2015

I’m taking two Chemical Engineering classes and a lab, along with one communication class and a leadership development class.

The two Chemical Engineering classes that I’m taking is ChE 234 Process Design II and ChE376 Energy: Issues & Technology. Process Design II is a continuation of Process Design I from last semester. In this class, we’re going keep working on the same assigned design project. However, we’re going to implement control systems into he project. In other words, we are given the opportunity to apply what we learned in Controls from last semester onto our project. It’s great to be able to apply knowledge that we just learned onto a working project.

In ChE 376, we’re going to learn about energy usage and supply, fossil fuel technologies, renewable energy alternatives and environmental impacts. The scope of this class is very broad so that we’re given some perspective and insight of these problems. It’s taught by Professor Israel Wachs, who is very generous and prestigious in his field of study.

ChE 203 is Unit Operations Lab. We meet once a week for three hours on Wednesday. We’ll continue performing laboratory analysis on critical Chemical Engineering concepts.

Comm 130 is a public speaking class which will help me get over the butterflies in my stomach before I give a presentation. It also conveniently satisfies the last credit I need for Humanities/Social Science requirements.

ISE 382 is leadership development and it’ll help me to grow as a leader which can be useful in the real world. The class is on Friday afternoons so I’ll let you know more about this class when the time comes.

Almost forgot to mention that I get Mondays off: something you don’t get very often in your life. Once in a while I enjoy having that kind of luxury.

Author: Jerry Jin

Hello, My name is Jerry Jin. I'm a senior at Lehigh University pursuing a degree in Chemical Engineering. I'm from Allentown, PA, but I was born in Shanghai, China. I moved here when I was fourteen years old. I'm currently the secretary for Southeast Asia at Lehigh Club, and treasurer for SASE. I'm also on the Lehigh Ultimate Frisbee Team and I enjoy being spontaneous.

Leave a Reply

