Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Official blog of the Lehigh University Chemical Engineers

Stress Happens

Leave a comment

Stess, now that’s the stuff I don’t like. Here at Lehigh, we are entering our second round of tests, meaning stress is in a high abundance. I actually just had a meeting with Lehigh’s academic success office to get some tips on de-stressing for testing. The director for the Center of Academic Success, Kelly Grim, gave me some great advice on how to get the best results from studying. The main aspect for staying on task is creating a schedule for yourself. Mine looks a little something like this:

Sched

Each color block indicates a different subject/class/meeting/commitment I have during the week, and any blank spaces are “free time.” The bottom section is for homework “due” that day and homework “to do” that day. I have implemented this for the past few weeks and it has helped me to stay on task and on time.

After talking to Kelly, I am going to make a few additions to this schedule. My main issue is that I never feel like I have enough time, so I am adding in time for me to do the things that I want, such as going to the gym, or watching an episode of netflix. Factoring these in ahead of time allows you to do them without feeling bad because in a sense, you planned for them.

Another tip Kelly gave me was creating a study schedule for myself of what I know, what I don’t know, and how much time I have to learn it. You may be thinking, wow, that’s a lot of lists, but in actuality, creating these schedules gives you more power over the situation, allowing your mind to tackle everything that needs to be done more effectively.

Basically, during exam weeks, anything goes. But the main thing to do is to stay on task and to stay positive. Constantly berating yourself isn’t going to help, but binge-watching Greek isn’t going to help either. Good luck on your tests and may the odds be ever in your favor.

Author: lukayla17

Junior Chemical Engineer Major! My interests include makeup, the 1950s, netflix, and cosmetic science.

Leave a Reply

