Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Official blog of the Lehigh University Chemical Engineers

Lehigh Career Fair Fall 2014

Leave a comment

This past Thursday Lehigh had its very own Career Fair at the Rauch Field House up on Goodman Campus. There were a lot of companies attending including the ones that showed up the night before to the Chemical Engineering Career Night. The Lehigh Career Fair is the best opportunity in the fall semester for students and companies to get to know each other. So you basically have to be sociable and “put yourself out there” in order to get the most benefit out of it. I think the key of such events is that you want the company to be able to match your face or personality with your resume, so your chance of scoring a interview is boosted. It’s a booster also because if the company representative enjoys talking to you, they are more likely to offer you a position. At the same time if helps you to determine what you like or dislike about certain company and helps to choose where to apply.

I had done my preparation the night before when I received a listing of companies that are attending the Career Fair. It helps me to be more efficient during the fair because I had picked out the ones I’m most interested in and the ones I definitely don’t want to miss. I ended up speaking to a lot of the companies hiring Chemical Engineers. My boss from Infineum was also there too and I was very glad to see him. We spoke as he tried to give me some tips on my resume and how I should carry myself when speaking to other companies.

So I was quite productive. I was busy leaving positive impressions and handing out resumes while having a constant flow of free giveaways. I tried to be attentive and relevant by drawing tangents of my past experience with the qualities the companies were looking for. Making sure to hit the “buzzwords” once in a while and chuckle here and there. But mostly importantly I stayed confident and professional, and I think companies like that.

Lehigh does a very good job at organizing the Career Fair. So many companies showed up given Lehigh’s prestige and its long term collaboration with industrial companies. Here’s a snapshot of some of the companies that showed up who were looking for Arts & Science Majors.

Capture

Author: Jerry Jin

Hello, My name is Jerry Jin. I'm a senior at Lehigh University pursuing a degree in Chemical Engineering. I'm from Allentown, PA, but I was born in Shanghai, China. I moved here when I was fourteen years old. I'm currently the secretary for Southeast Asia at Lehigh Club, and treasurer for SASE. I'm also on the Lehigh Ultimate Frisbee Team and I enjoy being spontaneous.

Leave a Reply

