Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Official blog of the Lehigh University Chemical Engineers

AIChE Career Night

Leave a comment

Last week was a busy week for me. As a senior Chemical Engineering student, I’m anxious to finish school on time and trying to make sure I have something to do after I graduate. Thankfully, life is full of opportunities. This past Wednesday, the Lehigh Chemical Engineering Department had its very own Career Night, hosted by AIChE. It was a great opportunity for Chemical Engineering students across all grade levels whether you are looking for a internship or full time employment. You get to network with professionals and learn valuable information about their company. There was a total of six company who showed up at this event, in which they gave presentations that showed us what their companies are all about.

List of Companies:

ExxonMobil, Air Products, Linde, Infineum, Wacker and Gore.

What I really liked about this Career Night is that I get to talk to professional and learn about what they do and what they look for in new hires. I spoke to people from all six companies and learned a great deal about what each of them and how chemical engineering can be applied in countless ways. I personally think that this event is very unique because all of the companies who showed up are looking to hire Chemical Engineers exclusively, as opposed to the Lehigh Career Fair which was the next day where companies come and look for majors unrelated to ChE. It also nice to know the kind of rotational training programs some of the companies have to get new hires familiarized with work. For example, both Wacker and Linde have programs that let you rotate around different  job position within the companies to get a best picture of the business.

Also, there was a lot of Lehigh Alums who came to talk to us. Some of them just recently graduated within a year or two. I was really happy to see my boss who came to give a presentation about Infineum. I had a great time talking to him and we actually went out to grab wings afterwards.

Author: Jerry Jin

Hello, My name is Jerry Jin. I'm a senior at Lehigh University pursuing a degree in Chemical Engineering. I'm from Allentown, PA, but I was born in Shanghai, China. I moved here when I was fourteen years old. I'm currently the secretary for Southeast Asia at Lehigh Club, and treasurer for SASE. I'm also on the Lehigh Ultimate Frisbee Team and I enjoy being spontaneous.

Leave a Reply

