Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Official blog of the Lehigh University Chemical Engineers

Returning for Co-op Rotation 2

Leave a comment

Infineum-Colour-Logo_SMALL

 

 

 

 

 

Hello all! So for this summer I’m going to be returning to Infineum for my second rotation. The Co-op program typically requires the student to return to the company after the completion of the first rotation the fall of previous year. If you worked hard enough and the company likes you, they’ll send out a return offer for the second rotation. However, it not always guaranteed that the company will extend an return for the second rotation. The chances of not getting an offer is relatively low. I think all of my friends got return offers which is really good! I heard that you would have to mess up really hard to be rejected. For example, showing up to work consistently late or not showing up at all could cause you to be turned down. You should also not try to show up to work drunk or any other sort of  intoxication. So if you have a little of bit of common sense, you should be okay. A turn down rarely happen.

On the other hand, if you have the power to turn the return offer down as well. Maybe for some reason you really disliked the company or decide that it’s not the best way to prepare you for the future. You can choose to say no. Some people may decided that a internship is not what suit them the best and choose to do research instead. In other words, it’s really flexible of what you wanted to do. However, there’s one thing you have to keep in mind when you make your decisions. You have to remember that whatever you do, you represent Lehigh. So make sure to be respectful to the HR and other related officials.

I’m really happy that Infineum asked me to come back, and I really like that place. It turns out that I’ll be returning to the R&D department again for this summer. I’m excited to reunion with my colleagues and work with them again. The company has two locations in the state of New Jersey. The R&D location is known as LBTC; it stands for Linden Business and Technology Center. The other location is the Bayway Refinery. The refinery location focuses more on the production and engineering aspect of the business, which is a lot more fast paced. I really look forward to joining the R&D team again and hopefully I’m able to make as much impact as my first rotation.

Author: Jerry Jin

Hello, My name is Jerry Jin. I'm a senior at Lehigh University pursuing a degree in Chemical Engineering. I'm from Allentown, PA, but I was born in Shanghai, China. I moved here when I was fourteen years old. I'm currently the secretary for Southeast Asia at Lehigh Club, and treasurer for SASE. I'm also on the Lehigh Ultimate Frisbee Team and I enjoy being spontaneous.

Leave a Reply

