Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Official blog of the Lehigh University Chemical Engineers

Tough Choice on Registration

Leave a comment

In an earlier post I discussed about the courses that I’m going to the take for the fall semster. And I mentioned how there’s requirements to take courses from another discipline in order to graduate. For the fall semeter, I’m deciding between taking ChE 341 which is Biotechnology and ChM 393, Physical Polymer Science. the Biotech class is to fulfill my bio requirement, and Polymer is to satisfy my chemistry level 300 class requirement. As a Chemical Engineering major at Lehigh, you are required to take a bio elective class, a chemistry level 300 class, a chemical engineering level 300 class, and a engineering class from another discipline. Since I haven’t done any of that, I really would like to get done with two of the above requirements in the fall semester. However, doing so would put on course overload and it’s also a lot of classes to handle at once. I would really like to focus on my chemical engineering classes but at the same time I have to dedicate my time towards the requirements.

The scenarios for me is to take both of ChE 341 and ChM 393 at the same time or one at a time. The reason I wanted to take those is because they are the most interesting of all electives and most helpful and most importantly, only offered in the fall. First of all, let’s take a look at what they are:

ChE 341 is Biotechnology I. It’s includes the applications of material and energy balances; heat, mass, and momentum transfer; enzyme and microbial kinetics; and mathematical modeling to the engineering design and scale-up of bio-reactor systems.

ChM 393 is Physical Polymer Science. It’s the structural and physical aspects of polymers (organic, inorganic, natural). Molecular and atomic basis for polymer properties and behavior. Characteristics of glassy, crystalline and paracrystalline states (including viscoelastic and relaxation behavior) for single- and multi-component systems. Thermodynamics and kinetics of transition phenomena. Structure, morphology and behavior.

Both of the them are really interesting. I think the polymer class would really benefit because polymers are so widespread in our everyday life. In addition, polymers are very important in petroleum and lubricate industry. I think I’d have to talk to my adviser about and see what he thinks. Both of these courses are really popular. A lot of the Chemical Engineering Majors choose to take those to take those two courses as their required electives.

Author: Jerry Jin

Hello, My name is Jerry Jin. I'm a senior at Lehigh University pursuing a degree in Chemical Engineering. I'm from Allentown, PA, but I was born in Shanghai, China. I moved here when I was fourteen years old. I'm currently the secretary for Southeast Asia at Lehigh Club, and treasurer for SASE. I'm also on the Lehigh Ultimate Frisbee Team and I enjoy being spontaneous.

Leave a Reply

