Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Official blog of the Lehigh University Chemical Engineers

Fall 2014 Schedule

Leave a comment

As Lehigh nears the end of a semester, one eye remains on the present as the other looks toward the future. Registration begins this week for rising seniors, I register next Monday with junior status. As a chemical engineer, I have a lot of required classes that are taken at specific times during my undergrad career. For this reason, my schedule basically makes itself and I simply have to fit everything in an arrangement I desire. I am a little ahead of the traditional ChemE schedule, so I have a little more freedom for my fall semester schedule.

fall 2014 schedule

My required classes are ChE 201, ChE 151, and CHM 341. ChE 201 is Methods of Analysis for Chemical Engineering. Basically, we will be taught how to use several computer-based programs and other means that are used to model systems and analyze them. ChE 151 is Heat Transfer taught by Professor McIntosh. Finally, CHM 341 is Physical Chemistry, which deals with molecular structure, bonding, and dynamics. BUS 125 and 126 are courses for the Business Minor Program which I have discussed in prior posts. The 6:30-9:30 seminar is only for the first four weeks of the semester, thankfully. This current schedule is only 14 credits, so I still need to find one more class. I am most likely going to satisfy my requirement for technical elective. All engineers must take at least 3 credits outside their discipline, so I could take a class in MechE or BioE, etc. I am considering either taking an Industrial Engineering statistics class or a BioE elective. I want to do a little more research and talk to older students before making a final decision. Normally, junior chemical engineers have to take Orgo I which makes the typical schedule very difficult. Thankfully, I already finished the course last semester, so my semester is more manageable. I am really looking forward to next and the new challenges. I want to dive deeper into chemical engineering and more applications of the concepts.

Author: Ben Dunmire

I am a sophomore Chemical Engineering major at Lehigh. On campus, I am the president of Club Baseball and a member of AIChE and NSCS. Outside of school, I enjoy the outdoors, fishing, and any type of athletic activity. You can reach me at bcd216@lehigh.edu.

Leave a Reply

