Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Official blog of the Lehigh University Chemical Engineers

Fall 2014 Class Schedule

Leave a comment

Hello everyone, it’s class registration time again. As a Chemical Engineering major and a rising senior, I’m finishing up my second to last semester at Lehigh. Aside from taking the Chemical Enigeering Department classes, I’m also required to take classes from discipline so that I meet all of the requirements to graduate. However, I have not fully decided on what I’m going to take yet, but it’s going to be either 5 classes with 16 credits, or 6 classes with 19 credits. At Lehigh, if you go over 18 credits you have to request for course overload. The only reason I might do 19 credits is because one of the classes is ridiculously interesting and it’s only offered in the fall. Without further redo, below is a peak at my potential schedule.

fall2014

 

ChE 242 is Introduction to Process Control and Simulation. It’s includes the dynamic simulation of chemical processes. Transfer functions and block diagrams. Introduction to process control equipment. Open-loop and closed-loop stability analysis using root locus and Nyquist techniques. Design of control systems. ChM 341 is Physical Chemistry. It focuses on the nature of chemical bonding as related to structure and properties of molecules and extended systems. Quantum chemistry of atoms and molecules applied to chemical transformations and spectroscopic transitions. Symmetry analysis and selections rules. Interpretation of electronic, vibrational and rotational spectra. ChE 233 is Process Deisgn. It’s the design of chemical plants incorporating traditional elements of engineering economics and synthesis of steady-state flowsheets with (1) both heuristic and rigorous optimization methods and (2) consideration of dynamic controllability of the process. Economic principles involved in the selection of process alternatives and determination of process capital, operating costs, and venture profitability. Energy conservation, pinch techniques, heat exchanger networks, and separation sequences. Considerations of market limitations, environmental and regulatory restrictions, and process safety. ChE 202 is Chemical Engineering Lab. It is the laboratory study of chemical engineering unit operations and the reporting of technical results. Independent study and both group and individual reporting. And I’m deciding in between ChE 341 which is Biotechnology and ChM 393, Physical Polymer Science.

Author: Jerry Jin

Hello, My name is Jerry Jin. I'm a senior at Lehigh University pursuing a degree in Chemical Engineering. I'm from Allentown, PA, but I was born in Shanghai, China. I moved here when I was fourteen years old. I'm currently the secretary for Southeast Asia at Lehigh Club, and treasurer for SASE. I'm also on the Lehigh Ultimate Frisbee Team and I enjoy being spontaneous.

Leave a Reply

