Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Official blog of the Lehigh University Chemical Engineers

Best Cities to Live in for Chemical Engineers

Leave a comment

Over the past few weeks I have been searching feverishly for internships or REU opportunities in the chemical engineering field. While browsing the internet and different job sites, I came across an interesting article about the best cities to live in as a chemical engineer. Coming to Lehigh from high school, I knew I wanted to study engineering because I enjoyed science and math classes, and excelled in them. However, I really had no idea which discipline to choose. During the first semester, I learned about the different majors available here and chose chemical engineering because of the diversity of the program and also the challenge. It seems it’s possible to acquire a plethora of different occupations with a chemical engineering degree. Studying the chemical engineering program, in the simplest sense, teaches problem solving. It challenges students to take a problem, use concepts they’ve learned, and solve the issue. This type of thinking isn’t limited to jobs specifically in the chemical engineering sector. Chemical engineers can attend medical or grad school, enter the financial sector, or move to other fields of engineering. I’ve been trying to figure out what I want to do after graduation and where I want to work, where I want to live but I really have no idea… Hopefully in the next few years I can figure it out and do something I truly enjoy.

Anyways, the article I read gave a little insight into where I high volume of chemical engineering jobs are and used a sort of equation to determine the best cities to live in as a chemical engineer. Here is the link: http://www.valuepenguin.com/2013/07/best-cities-chemical-engineers

The author of the article took into account three main points to determine the order of cities. He considered; the salary being made in the city, the cost of living in the city, and the location quotient for engineers in the city. The first two concepts are self explanatory, and location quotient refers to the volume of chemical engineering jobs. That is, cities with more available jobs are more desirable. Here is the list:

cities jobs

 

Many of the cities are coastal cities which is where there is traditionally better jobs. A lot of these jobs, especially in the Gulf, are in the petroleum and oil sector. The world literally runs on gasoline and oil, so this market is very inviting and profitable. The cities nearest Lehigh are Philadelphia, Wilmington DE, and Baltimore. Dupont is located in Wilmington and the cost of living is fairly low, which explains why it is very high on the last. I’d like to live fairly close to where I grew up (Harrisburg, PA) so I may want to consider looking for employment in some of the cities on this list. I found this article very intriguing and it really provided an outline into where the bulk of chemical engineers work and what sector they are involved in. I have no idea what the future holds but I am greatly enjoying my time at Lehigh. Who knows, maybe I’ll end up in one of these cities some day.

Author: Ben Dunmire

I am a sophomore Chemical Engineering major at Lehigh. On campus, I am the president of Club Baseball and a member of AIChE and NSCS. Outside of school, I enjoy the outdoors, fishing, and any type of athletic activity. You can reach me at bcd216@lehigh.edu.

Leave a Reply

