Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Official blog of the Lehigh University Chemical Engineers

Heading Back

Leave a comment

Tomorrow we’ll officially start the second half of the spring semester of 2014. I’m expecting a hectic start heading back from my rather relaxing spring break. There’s one midterm left for each of my ChE classes, Reactor Design and Separation Processes, before we start the finals week. There’s also going to be a Physcial Chemistry lab report due on the coming Thursday. I’m going to go to the chemistry building to take advantage of the computer with Origin Software installed. The lab report is on Liquid Vapor Equilibrium (LVE) ; the goal is to understand how the components in a binary mixture evaporate from their respective liquid phase with changing temperature and pressure.

I’m mostly concerned about the amount of time I have to spend on completing this lab. Because for one of the previously lab reports, the Partial Molar Volume (PMV) lab, I had spent collectively a good 16 hours on it. Although the PMV lab is probably the longest lab reports we have to write, plus I procrastinate a lot, I’m hoping to finish the LVE fast enough so that I could spend more time on other activities. Fortunately for PChem, there’s only a total of 7 lab reports to write, and LVE is my 3rd one, so I’m almost half way through the course, yay!

In addition to all the above, this is so called the financial aid season. It’s time to complete my tax returns and submit for consideration for financial aid for the 2014-2015 school year. Places I usually submit to include FAFSA, CSS profile/Pheaa, and Lehigh University Grant, It’s always a good idea to get as much as you can from as many places as you can.

Thankfully, March Madness is under its way. I have been looking forward to it since March of last year. In fact, next Sunday will be Selection Sunday. And the weather is getting better and warmer. So it’s gonna be good! Thank you for listening to my rant. Have a good day!

Author: Jerry Jin

Hello, My name is Jerry Jin. I'm a senior at Lehigh University pursuing a degree in Chemical Engineering. I'm from Allentown, PA, but I was born in Shanghai, China. I moved here when I was fourteen years old. I'm currently the secretary for Southeast Asia at Lehigh Club, and treasurer for SASE. I'm also on the Lehigh Ultimate Frisbee Team and I enjoy being spontaneous.

Leave a Reply

