Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Official blog of the Lehigh University Chemical Engineers

#1 Thing that I learned during Co-op 1st Rotation

Leave a comment

It has been a fruitful Co-op experience at Infineum. I have developed both personal and professional skills that allow me to stay on track of my career goals. One of the most important aspect of my personal development is perhaps time management.

Being able to manage my hours during a typical work day is crucial to maximizing my work output. I need to know exactly when I will be carrying out the work and the amount of time it will take to accomplish the job. It is necessary to keep myself occupied at all times in order to avoid wasting company hours. Therefore, it is my responsibility to plan it out before the day starts.

For example, most of the oxidation experiments that I have done were started on a Tuesday. This is because the lengths of these experiments were typically 72 hours, so by Friday I would have all samples taken. Monday would be my day to finish up analyzing any unfinished data and get ready for the next experiment. Since it takes over an hour for my experiment to heat up to desired temperature, I must arrive to work early to turn the thermostat on. While the pot is heating up, I grab a basket and stroll down to the basement for beaker shopping. I would then have the apparatus set up and all parameters checked up before the sample is ready to go.

For the remaining of the day, I travel up and down the hall to collect samples at specified intervals. When I’m away from collecting samples, I would be either preparing for my next collection or learning about the material. For the rest of week, I would be sending my samples through different analytical equipment, and some of these take overnight to finish analyzing. Therefore, I must plan my time accordingly so that I have all the samples prepared and ready to send in before the end of the day. In order to keep up with the schedule and avoid falling behind, I had to fully utilize any available working time during the day. Although I try my best to manage my time, sometimes equipment start acting up and forcing me to spend extra time.

Coming back to Lehigh in the spring feeling refreshed, I am able to accomplish more during working time. I’m certainly hoping to keep it up and not letting it slip. So far it has been working… …

Here’s an interesting video I’d like to share since it has been cold the past few weeks. Enjoy.

Author: Jerry Jin

Hello, My name is Jerry Jin. I'm a senior at Lehigh University pursuing a degree in Chemical Engineering. I'm from Allentown, PA, but I was born in Shanghai, China. I moved here when I was fourteen years old. I'm currently the secretary for Southeast Asia at Lehigh Club, and treasurer for SASE. I'm also on the Lehigh Ultimate Frisbee Team and I enjoy being spontaneous.

Leave a Reply

