Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Official blog of the Lehigh University Chemical Engineers

Returning to School

Leave a comment

Returning to School

This week marks the third week of the spring 2014 semester. I am finally adjusting back to school life and returning to my school routine. Last fall, I was in Baton Rouge, Louisiana on a Co-op working for ExxonMobil, but I’ll talk more about this in a later post.

My schedule is now finalized and stable after I switched from the class Phenomenology and Theory of Childhood Disorders to Sociology 001 (SSP 001). With my hard course load, I wanted a class a little easier and more general. Along with Sociology 001, I am taking Philosophy 001 (PHIL 001) to complete my Social Science and Humanities requirements. These classes are a nice change of pace from my typical Chemical Engineering classes. Right now, I am very interested in my Philosophy class because it is discussion based and we talk about random, absurd things that end up relating to Philosophy and greater lessons of life. Even though this class is at 7:55 am, I look forward to going because I am always engaged and interested.

For my Chemical Engineering classes, we are required to take Chemical Reactor Design (CHE211) and Mass Transfer and Separations (CHE244). Even the names of these classes are interesting. After my co-op, I am able to relate a lot of the work I did last fall to these two classes. The first day of Mass Transfer, we talked about the use of ethylene: to make polyethylene, or better known as plastic. I worked at ExxonMobil’s Baton Rouge Polyolefins plant where we made high density polyethylene plastic pellets. It helps to relate what you learn in class to the outside world and the other way around as well. In addition, a lot of material will overlap in all of your Chemical Engineering courses which helps you better understand the material and to learn it in different aspects.

I am also taking two labs this semester, Physical Chemistry lab (CHM 343) and Bio 1 Lab (BIOS 042). Bio 1 lab is not required for Chemical Engineers and is typically a freshman course. P Chem lab meets twice a week and is a required lab for Chemical Engineers. It is a writing intensive lab and requires a lot of time and effort.

I am excited to see how this semester plays out and am enjoying the length of a regular semester versus the shortened semesters I experienced this summer.

Author: luniki15

Hi! I'm Nicolette Drescher. I am from York, Pennsylvania which is 2 hours west of Lehigh. I am majoring in Chemical Engineering. On campus, I am involved in various organizations. I am co-chair of the mission committee for the club Colleges Against Cancer. I am in Phi Sigma Pi, a national honor fraternity. I am also a member of the Society of Women Engineers, American Women's Medical Association and the Asian Cultural Society. I also just joined the Lehigh University Medical Services club as a certified PA EMT.

Leave a Reply

