Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Official blog of the Lehigh University Chemical Engineers

Back in the Saddle

Leave a comment

Winter break flew by as quick as the snow melted, and Lehigh’s campus is back to its busy and bustling self. Monday marked the beginning of the Spring 2014 semester and my second semester as a sophomore. The fall semester was great, I earned a 4.0 GPA but only touched the tip of the Chemical Engineering iceberg. I learned a lot of valuable information and useful techniques that can be applied to other courses, and I was able to meet several other Chemical Engineers to share the educational experience with. The next few semesters will prove to be extremely difficult, and as the old adage goes, misery loves company. This past semester reaffirmed my belief that professors, upperclassmen, and current classmates are dependable and will facilitate a fruitful and memorable experience in the Chemical Engineering program at Lehigh. I am looking forward to the spring semester and a new set of challenges.

Spring 2014 Schedule

Spring 2014 Schedule

Above is my schedule for this semester, I have 5 core classes and ChE 179 which is a one credit Professional Development class. I anticipate ChE 210 (Thermodynamics) to be my most difficult class, it is my first 200 level ChE course at Lehigh. Thankfully, I don’t have to take Fluid Mechanics (ChE 044) in conjunction with Thermo which is the normal schedule for second semester sophomores. I took Fluid Mechanics during my freshman fall semester. From what I’ve heard, Thermo is one of the most difficult ChE classes at Lehigh, if not the most challenging. I’ll have to bear down and focus to do well in the course.

BIOS 41 and ECE 83 are required for a Chemical Engineering degree. Even though they may not seem relevant to ChE on the surface, the courses teach fundamental ideas about science that are imperative to any job in a technical field. Topics covered in these classes may also spark an interest in an area which can be combined with Chemical Engineering topics. BIOS 41 focuses on cellular and molecular biology while ECE 83 is the introductory Electrical Engineering course, focusing on circuits.

PSYC 107 is Child Development and will help me fulfill my Humanities and Social Science requirements. I think the class will be very interesting and will definitely have a different vibe than all the math and science courses I’ve had so far.

CHM 112 is Organic Chemistry 2, building off of Orgo 1 which I took last semester. The course is taught by the same professor I had in the fall so there is a sense of continuity. Obviously, the course will be tougher than the first and will build off ideas taught in the first semester course. I thoroughly enjoyed the problem-solving aspect of Organic Chemistry and am looking forward to expanding my knowledge this semester.

Lastly, is ChE 179 which is called Professional Development. The class meets once a week on Mountaintop Campus and focuses on procedure etiquette for working in industry or at graduate school. The professor will cover topics such as ethics, internship and research opportunities, and several field trips to businesses. I believe this course will diverge from the technical courses and give insight into the professional world.

I will keep you updated throughout the semester about my classes, experiences, and possibly some complaints about exams or homework. It’s really unbelievable to think that at the end of this semester, I will be halfway through my college education. Time flies.

Author: Ben Dunmire

I am a sophomore Chemical Engineering major at Lehigh. On campus, I am the president of Club Baseball and a member of AIChE and NSCS. Outside of school, I enjoy the outdoors, fishing, and any type of athletic activity. You can reach me at bcd216@lehigh.edu.

Leave a Reply

