Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Official blog of the Lehigh University Chemical Engineers

Spring 2014 Semester

Leave a comment

It’s that time of year again, class registration. The second round of exams is winding down and the topic on everybody’s mind is what classes they are going to take next semester. I think juniors and seniors have already registered, my registration as a sophomore status is next Tuesday and first-years sometime later next week. Registration is sort of the tale of two cities, Arts & Sciences and Business students have more freedom in choosing classes. They are able to fill their requirements with classes that peak their interests and truly pertain to career paths they wish to pursue. Meanwhile, engineers have a more structured curriculum, so there is less freedom to take different classes. In the ChemE department, there is a handout which organizes all required classes and provides a recommended time line of when to take each class. For this reason, my toughest part of registering is making sure I can fit all needed classes with the times and (hopefully) avoid early start times. Here is my schedule so far for next semester:

Spring 2014

Spring 2014

My schedule is not quite finalized, I still need a HU/SS class to total 18 credits. ECE 083 is required for ChemE and unfortunately it starts at 8 AM, but it’s better to get out of the way now than later. I have two ChE classes, 210 which is Thermodynamics and 179 which is professional development. From what I’ve heard, in professional development information about careers is presented and you are able to develop an idea of what industry you are interested in. CHM 112 is organic chemistry 2, which will hopefully be an easy transition from Organic 1 (I’m taking currently). Last is BIOS 41 which is Introductory Biology. ChemE’s must fulfill a biology elective, there are several choices and I still haven’t 100% decided which to take. I really haven’t had any classes other than math and science, so I’m excited to have a humanities or social science elective.

As a whole, this semester will be challenging (aren’t they all?) but after it’s over, it will mark the halfway point of my college career. That’s kind of crazy to think about. Hopefully I can hammer out a schedule and be ready for 7 AM registration on Tuesday.

Author: Ben Dunmire

I am a sophomore Chemical Engineering major at Lehigh. On campus, I am the president of Club Baseball and a member of AIChE and NSCS. Outside of school, I enjoy the outdoors, fishing, and any type of athletic activity. You can reach me at bcd216@lehigh.edu.

Leave a Reply

