Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Official blog of the Lehigh University Chemical Engineers

The H-S aka Mollier Diagram

Leave a comment

For those of you wondering how we find out numbers quickly for calculations, here’s the secret: The Mollier Diagram. The Mollier Diagram comes in really handy when analyzing thermodynamic processes such as flow in compressors, condensers and turbines. The properties included are: Enthalpy, Entropy, Pressure, Temperature, moisture % and others. In order to find enthalpy or entropy at a specific temperature and pressure, all I need to do is find the point where your given temperature and pressure intersect, and look across horizontally and vertically for the corresponding enthalpy and entropy. It saves me a lot of time and trouble for trying to extrapolate between points as in a data table At first it might seem a little difficult to read because there are too many lines everywhere, however, I grew used to it after using it three times. Now it’s almost like I couldn’t live without it.

Author: Jerry Jin

Hello, My name is Jerry Jin. I'm a senior at Lehigh University pursuing a degree in Chemical Engineering. I'm from Allentown, PA, but I was born in Shanghai, China. I moved here when I was fourteen years old. I'm currently the secretary for Southeast Asia at Lehigh Club, and treasurer for SASE. I'm also on the Lehigh Ultimate Frisbee Team and I enjoy being spontaneous.

Leave a Reply

