Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Official blog of the Lehigh University Chemical Engineers

Getting Involved in Research

Leave a comment

Image
                 This may look a little intimidating, and to be honest, I have no clue what any of this means. This week in Professional Development, our professor talked to us about the different research that professors are doing in the Chemical Engineering Department. This is one of the slides that he showed us when describing the types of research he is conducting. Some of the topics that he is researching include:
•Conversion of CH4 to Liquid Hydrocarbon Fuel
•Pyrolysis of Biomass to Liquid Hydrocarbon Fuel
•Olefin Metathesis for Production of C3=
•Production of H2 via Water-Gas Shift Reaction
•Photocatalytic Splitting of H2O to H2 and O2
•Electrocatalytic Fuel Cells (with Prof. McIntosh)
                    After going into detail about his research, our professor, Professor Wachs went through the Chemical Engineering Department website and showed us pictures of each professor and briefly explained what type of research they are doing.  Last year, students suggested to Professor Wachs the idea to take one class period to teach us about the different research professors are doing so that we are aware of what professors are involved in when they’re not teaching. In addition, this would allow us to find topics of research that interested us and contact that professor about doing research with them. It was also really helpful that the professor explained the research in a way we would understand. Because like the picture above, some times these topics can be very elaborate and confusing.
                 I never thought I was a research person, but after this presentation, I think I want to try and do research over the summer while I’m here for classes. I particularly was interested in the research being done by Dr. McHugh. The research that interested me the most was his work with injectable, controlled-release drug delivery. I really like the idea of combining Chemical Engineering principles to the Medical Field. After seeing this presentation, I’m definitely going to contact some of the professors to learn more about their research topics and to hopefully join them as well.
                Here is a link to the Chemical Engineering Department website. On this page, there are pictures of all the ChE professors, and if you click on their names, you can learn more about their academic backgrounds and areas of research.
Author: luniki15

Hi! I'm Nicolette Drescher. I am from York, Pennsylvania which is 2 hours west of Lehigh. I am majoring in Chemical Engineering. On campus, I am involved in various organizations. I am co-chair of the mission committee for the club Colleges Against Cancer. I am in Phi Sigma Pi, a national honor fraternity. I am also a member of the Society of Women Engineers, American Women's Medical Association and the Asian Cultural Society. I also just joined the Lehigh University Medical Services club as a certified PA EMT.

Leave a Reply

