Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Official blog of the Lehigh University Chemical Engineers

A Fresh Start

Leave a comment

Although we had close to a month off of school, the break flew by, and now, we are back for Spring Semester 2013. On my first day, I only ended up having two classes to start off the semester, but I started my semester with an 8 am lecture, which is something most students here dread. However, my 8 am class is ECE 83, which is an intro Electrical Engineering class and the professor that teaches it admits to being very loud and obnoxious. This makes it very hard to fall asleep and makes an 8 am class a little less awful.

This semester, I’m starting to take more classes that are related to my major, instead of intro science and math classes. The classes are definitely becoming a lot harder, but they are also becoming a lot more interesting. Although ECE 83 might not seem like it has anything to do with Chemical Engineering, as our professor told us this morning in lecture, every type of engineer with have to know intro Electrical Engineering ways of thinking in their disciplines. In fact, Professor Best isn’t even an Electrical Engineer. He’s a Biomedical Engineer with some experience in Mechanical Engineering.

The overlapping of the different types of engineering was an aspect of engineering that attracted me to the field. You’re not stuck learning one way of learning or learning about just one branch of the field. You also learn material that you can apply to real world problems and scenarios. Here at Lehigh, to graduate with a Chemical Engineering degree, you’re required to take classes outside of your specific engineering major and take classes in the other types of engineering. I’m thinking about taking MAT 33, which is an intro Materials Science Engineering class because that class meshes well with what I will be learning in Chemical Engineering. But, I’ve also considered mixing it up and taking a class like MECH 3, which is a Mechanical Engineering class. MECH 3 might seem like a class that wouldn’t be useful to a Chemical Engineer. But, like I mentioned earlier, the different engineering disciplines overlap a lot more than someone might think.

Author: luniki15

Hi! I'm Nicolette Drescher. I am from York, Pennsylvania which is 2 hours west of Lehigh. I am majoring in Chemical Engineering. On campus, I am involved in various organizations. I am co-chair of the mission committee for the club Colleges Against Cancer. I am in Phi Sigma Pi, a national honor fraternity. I am also a member of the Society of Women Engineers, American Women's Medical Association and the Asian Cultural Society. I also just joined the Lehigh University Medical Services club as a certified PA EMT.

Leave a Reply

