Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Official blog of the Lehigh University Chemical Engineers

Above and Beyond

Leave a comment

After my Chemical Engineering class the other day, I was talking to my professor about the relationship between Chemical Engineering and the medical field. He knew I was an EMT here at Lehigh so he asked me if I was on a pre-medicine track, which I am. Then, like most other people, he started asking me about why I am choosing to do Chemical Engineering on a pre-Medicine track. I told him that I wanted to keep my options open and get the best education I can. I know that Chemical Engineering will teach me how to problem-solve and will challenge me, which are two things needed to be a doctor. In addition, you never know what can happen in 4 years, and I might end up deciding that medicine is not for me. Then, I would still have a great degree in Chemical Engineering and enjoy getting a job in that field.

 

 

Professor Gilchrist then told me about a man by the name of Dr. Michael Yaszemski who went to Lehigh for an undergraduate degree in Chemical Engineering and ended up being a doctor and performing a cutting edge surgery. The interesting part, aside from his journey to becoming a surgeon, was that Dr. Yaszemski came to college having no clue what he wanted to do with his life. Below is a really interesting video of the surgery he performed where he basically had to cut a pregnant woman in half in order to remove a tumor. The video is a video of Dr. Yaszemski on the TODAY show describing the surgery and about the woman who had the surgery.

Also, below that link is an article about Dr. Yaszemski’s time at Lehigh and the path he took to end up where he is today.

CHECK OUT THE VIDEO!

http://today.msnbc.msn.com/id/39321747/ns/today-today_health/t/mother-two-was-cut-two-remove-her-cancer/#.UIFr41IxCas

READ ABOUT HIS TIME AT LEHIGH!

http://www4.lehigh.edu/news/newsarticle.aspx?Channel=/Channels/News:+2010&WorkflowItemID=3803a6d7-9e66-4e00-a1da-5f21609c1784

Author: luniki15

Hi! I'm Nicolette Drescher. I am from York, Pennsylvania which is 2 hours west of Lehigh. I am majoring in Chemical Engineering. On campus, I am involved in various organizations. I am co-chair of the mission committee for the club Colleges Against Cancer. I am in Phi Sigma Pi, a national honor fraternity. I am also a member of the Society of Women Engineers, American Women's Medical Association and the Asian Cultural Society. I also just joined the Lehigh University Medical Services club as a certified PA EMT.

Leave a Reply

