Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Official blog of the Lehigh University Chemical Engineers

Balancing academics and extracurricular activities

Leave a comment

As a sophomore Chemical Engineering Major, the only chemical engineering class I am taking this semester is Material and Energy Balances. It is a very challenging as you can see the class average for the first test is a 44 percent. Although the class is difficult, it is definitely doable if you put in the efforts to do well.

One thing that I have a lot of trouble right now is balancing academics and extracurricular activities. I want to put in one hundred percent effort for my classes, but often times, I feel like I don’t have enough time. I participate in many extracurricular activities. For example, I am in the new initiate class for Phi Sigma Pi, the national honors fraternity. Right now, I am in the process of finishing up initiation, which is a very big time commitment.  I have to do 40 interviews with the brothers from the chapters, attend weekly meetings, and attend brotherhood events. Currently, I spend at least 3 hours on PSP, which takes away from studying time. In addition, I am the Vice President for my residence hall, and I have to attend weekly meetings and plan events for the residences. I am also the treasurer for Chinese Cultural Club, which is another big time commitment. On top of weekly meetings, I have to submit funding requests and budgets to take care of the financial aspect of the club.

With all these extracurricular activities I have, academic requirements become difficult to fulfill. However, academic is still my top priority. With a busy schedule, I try my best to use my time wisely and try not to get distracted. For example, I would go to classes during the day and schedule interviews with brothers during lunch hours or between classes if I have a gap. After class, I would attend my usual meetings for my clubs and do interviews with brothers. By the time I get back to my apartment, it is usually around 7 or 8pm. I spend majority of my nighttime studying or doing homework. It is very difficult that I have to stay up late all the time. However, my schedule will not be as busy after my PSP initiation. Overall, I think the most important thing when comes to balancing academic and extracurricular activities is to stay focus and not to get distracted.

Author: luolivia15

Hello everyone! My name is Olivia Yang, and I am a Senior this year. I am a chemical engineering major in the Integrated Business and Engineering Honors program. I am the founder and the President of the Lehigh Chapter of Society of Asian Scientists and Engineers (SASE at Lehigh). I want to share with you my experiences working with SASE at Lehigh, and my role as an IBE chemical engineering student. If you have any questions regarding chemical engineering, SASE, or IBE, feel free to contact me.

Leave a Reply

