Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Official blog of the Lehigh University Chemical Engineers

Superheating of Water

Leave a comment

Two weeks ago we were learning the concept of superheating of water in my Chm 31 class. Superheating basically happens when you heat a liquid above its boiling point temperature without boiling. It can be done by simply overheat water in a microwave at home, however, this is dangerous because once the superheated water is disturbed, some of the water will explode. And here is a interesting mythbuster video demonstrating this phenomenon!

Do not try that at home!

Author: Jerry Jin

Hello, My name is Jerry Jin. I'm a senior at Lehigh University pursuing a degree in Chemical Engineering. I'm from Allentown, PA, but I was born in Shanghai, China. I moved here when I was fourteen years old. I'm currently the secretary for Southeast Asia at Lehigh Club, and treasurer for SASE. I'm also on the Lehigh Ultimate Frisbee Team and I enjoy being spontaneous.

Leave a Reply

